NTSA’s Accreditation centers on ensuring survivors receive quality care from healthy, trauma-informed organizations.

NTSA's Accreditation is LIVE!

Why be Accredited?

As our field matures and grows, and more residential programs open across the US, one thing in the minds of survivors, survivor advocates, caring community members and donors is: Can I trust this residential program?

Having your program accredited certifies to survivors and supporters that your service is credible and trust-worthy. NTSA’s Accreditation provides third-party vetting that your program maintains and upholds the Essential Standards established by NTSA.

Questions about Accreditation? Email us at

Essential standards are the base standards that all programs undergoing Accreditation with NTSA must meet. These standards were developed by a team of experts under advisement from survivors working in residential service to ensure that programs accredited through NTSA are providing adequate and qualified care to survivors.

Overview of NTSA’s Accreditation

NTSA Accreditation is a three year accreditation model. General members of the alliance are encouraged to apply to be accredited and become certified as providers of quality residential care for survivors of trafficking and exploitation. Those that are ready to move forward with the Accreditation process will be evaluated using NTSA’s established Essential Standards. Throughout the Accreditation process, members will then be assessed by NTSA’s Review PanelMembers should expect the accreditation process to take up to 9-12 months. Once accredited by the Review Panel, the program will receive an official Seal and Certification of Accreditation.

After an agency successfully completes the process and is offered the NTSA Accreditation Seal and Certificate of Accreditation, they can expect to begin their re-evaluation in the third year in order to prevent a gap in their accreditation.

Our Values​

Many who have experienced Accreditation know that it can be daunting and often has an air of judgement and rigidity. NTSA’s Accreditation has been created to support a culture of learning and improving as an anti-trafficking community rather than top-down judgement. We value using this process as an opportunity for programs to grow, to hear different perspectives, and to learn the steps to meet our Essential Standards. This is why each person on our review panel has the posture of a supporter and trainer. This is also the value behind why, if there is any reason an agency is found to not meet a standard, we will offer practical next steps for how that standard can be met and will work with that agency, until they can show they meet the standard. This Accreditation model is not about rejecting those who don’t meet the standards; rather, it is about working with them until they can meet the standards.

Accreditation through NTSA provides service providers with templates, resources, and clarity through commentary regarding what it means to meet each standard and how to implement them within your program. Therefore, the accreditation model both serves to ensure a baseline of credibility, accountability, and best practice within survivor services, while continually supporting programs to grow as providers.

Accreditation as a New and Growing Program

NTSA’s Accreditation program is new and evolving. Over time, we will continue to add more commentaries and resources to our Accreditation library for NTSA members, which we hope will provide more clarity and support to those looking to undergo Accreditation. As we see more and more agencies able to confidently meet the Essential Standards, we hope, with the help of research and evidence from members and the residential field at large, to strengthen the standards and the process, so that we can continue to bring more accountability and support for this field. 

Please continue to check back as NTSA’s Accreditation continues to be enhanced!